DUI in Oklahoma

A DUI charge in Oklahoma is serious and a criminal conviction for DUI can follow you for the rest of your life. Even if you avoid jail time by getting probation, the costs can be enormous and may affect your future employment opportunities. There are also ramifications for your Oklahoma Driver License if you are arrested for DUI. You only have fifteen (15) days to request an administrative hearing with the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety to protect your driving privileges after you are arrested. This is a completely separate case from your criminal case in Oklahoma district court. In criminal court, there are several different DUI charges under Oklahoma law. The most common are:

First Offense​​ DUI / APC

A first offense DUI or APC charge in Oklahoma is a misdemeanor offense with punishment ranging from a minimum of ten (10) days incarceration in the county jail to a maximum of one (1) year and a fine of up to $1,000.00.

Second Offense DUI / APC​​

A second offense DUI or APC charge within ten (10) years of a prior DUI/APC conviction in Oklahoma is a felony offense with punishment ranging from a minimum of one (1) year incarceration in the Oklahoma Department of Corrections to a maximum of five (5) years and a fine of up to $5,000.00. Various recommendations, post-imprisonment supervision, an ignition interlock device and 240 community service hours are also proscribed by law.

Third or Subsequent Offense​​

A third or subsequent offense DUI or APC charge within ten (10) years of a prior DUI/APC conviction in Oklahoma is a felony offense with punishment ranging from a minimum of one (1) year incarceration in the Oklahoma Department of Corrections to a maximum of twenty (20) years and a fine of up to $5,000.00. Various recommendations, post-imprisonment supervision, aftercare, an ignition interlock device for a minimum of thirty (30) days and 480 community service hours are also proscribed by law.